Make your own notebook pockets

Ack! It’s that time again, when I need to start a new notebook. I plan my days and keep notes on my progress in a 5×8″ spiral notebook, and since my life is on the busy side, I frequently have to start fresh, when the last one is filled up.

One of the issues I’ve encountered is the variability of “features” — that is, some have pockets inside them, and some don’t. I use the pockets inside my notebooks a lot – to carry receipts and other reminders, as well as pieces of paper I have to reference later.

Pockets are non-negotiable for me. At least, they have become that way after some time of getting used to them. (For the record, I can remember a day when pockets inside spiral notebooks were a real luxury item.)

Anyway, my new notebook doesn’t have any built-in pockets. It does, however, have dividers between several sections. So, using those dividers,  I’ve made some pockets myself.

Here’s how:

Supplies Needed:

  • Spiral notebook with divided sections
  • Scotch Tape
  • Scissors or other blade, like an exacto knife

First, open up the notebook to a divider – see, no pockets:

make-your-own-notebook-pockets-1

Looking at the notebook you want to emulate, see and appreciate how much better pockets make a notebook:

make-your-own-notebook-pockets-2

Now, go back to your “challenged” notebook and turn over a blank page on top of the divider.

make-your-own-notebook-pockets-3With a scissors (or other sharp blade, like an exacto knife), cut along the wire binding, halfway down the page. Remove the extra border from the inside of the wire binding.

make-your-own-notebook-pockets-4Fold down the cut page, so that the top lines up exactly with the bottom. You will now have a page that covers half of the divider.

make-your-own-notebook-pockets-5Now, if you want to have two pockets – one on each side of the divider, turn over the dividing page and do the same to the blank page on the side. Cut halfway down, and fold down the page halfway. Make sure the edges all line up, neat and tidy.

make-your-own-notebook-pockets-6

Now, get your scotch tape and run a long piece of tape down the edge of one of the half pages. You don’t want to tape anything else, except the paper pocket you’re creating.

make-your-own-notebook-pockets-7Now, turn over the divider and line up the half page on the other side, and fold over the scotch tape to anchor this side in place. Make sure you’re careful about lining up the edges, so you have a clean, neat seal.

make-your-own-notebook-pockets-8With your scissors, snip off the edge of the leftover tape.

make-your-own-notebook-pockets-9Do the same along the bottom of your half-pages. Get a long piece of scotch tape, run half of it along the bottom of the page…

make-your-own-notebook-pockets-10Then turn the page over and tape the bottom of the other side in place.

make-your-own-notebook-pockets-11Then snip off the extra, nice and neat…
make-your-own-notebook-pockets-12And voila! You now have pockets in your new spiral bound notebook.

make-your-own-notebook-pockets-13I hope you’ve found this helpful. It’s saved me a lot of time and hassle, and if the pocket-less notebooks are cheaper, then I’ve just saved myself money over the long run, as well.

Happy trails…

About Kay Lorraine

I'm a writer and an artist, a technologist and a thinker, independently living my life.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Make your own notebook pockets

  1. Anthony Turi says:

    I love this article. As a notebook fan, I totally get where you are coming from with this, as a fan of the pocket myself :-). I will be having a go at this with my (non-pocketed) notebooks.

    Like

  2. beverlee says:

    I came on line in search of a notebook with pockets. None. I want one to store my small stencils in, so if I can find a large enough notebook I will be all set, thanks to you.

    Liked by 1 person

Got some advice? I'd love to hear it :)

